More Than Just Extra Credit

April 25, 2012 at 7:59 pm Leave a comment

Hello MAT 120!

I hope everyone’s semester is ending on a great note, and I thank you again for reading the blog throughout this semester. I hope you gained more than just the occasional extra credit points from the blog. After reading the blogs, I hope you learned that when we speak of technology we are not strictly speaking of the latest smartphone or computer programming.   Technology has integrated its way into every industry in some way, shape, or form. Whether you like it or not you will need technology to preform your job effectively someday!

As a Business Information Systems major, I am privileged to be at the center stage of where industries and technologies meet in a variety of environments. Over the summer, I interned in an IT department at  McDonald’s headquarters, I currently assist with launching exciting new systems for Illinois State in the Business Intelligence and Technologies Solutions unit on campus, and I have accepted a full-time position as an IT analyst for Caterpillar starting in June.

While quick service restaurants,  higher education, and construction do not have a lot in common, they all need talented individuals willing to solve complex problems. I highly encourage you to at least check out some of the aspects of IT that are relevant to the career you are pursuing and I guarantee you will discover amazing things!

In closing, thank you again for reading this semester. I highly encourage each and every one of you to stay in contact with me and I have included my e-mail address below.

Have a great rest of your semester!

Paul Timmermann
BIS Club, President
pltimme@gmail.com

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Thanks for Reading! What now?

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

