The iPhone 5

September 16, 2012 at 8:46 pm 2 comments

Greetings math 120 student, my name is Andrew Polykandriotis and I would like to welcome you to my blog.  As my title indicates, my first topic revolves around one of Apple’s newest products, the iPhone 5.  I was intrigued to write about this topic because I already pre-ordered this phone to replace my current iPhone 3GS, which is a piece of crap in comparison to what the iPhone 5 has promised to offer me.

Please copy the below URL into your browser to begin watching the iPhone 5 video.  After, please log into ReggieNet and complete the quiz for credit.

http://www.apple.com/iphone/#video

Image

Entry filed under: technology.

Moore’s Law and the Future of Computing PHP’s, Rubies, and Pythons…OH MY! – Breaking into the World of Programming.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. philprof  |  September 16, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    Although this video is basically a commercial for the IPhone, I think it really helps me to see all the things that go into the development of a new tech product, whether it’s made by Apple or by someone else. This stuff takes a lot of thought by lots of creative people in order to make it happen.

    I noticed, though, that all the Apple spokespersons in the video were guys. Where are Apple’s female leaders?

    Reply
  • 2. Patrick  |  September 17, 2012 at 12:06 am

    I’m actually really disappointed with the newest iPhone. I was hoping Apple would make this more ground-breaking, instead I like to think of it as an iPhone 4RS (Redesigned 4S). Yes, there’s a few innovative things, but I was hoping for more. A lot more. Here’s a list:

    -Quad-core processor (although it’s probably only dual-core, Apple hasn’t released the specs on the processor yet, so I could still be wrong)
    -Larger screen (at least 4.5″ and still touting 326ppi)
    -13 MP camera on the back (with image stabilization) and a 2MP front-facing camera
    -Bigger battery (one around 2,000mAh, not 1,500)
    -Corning’s Gorilla Glass 2 (Apple hasn’t confirmed its use if the iPhone does have it)
    -2GB of RAM
    -MicroUSB port (not its Lightning connector)
    -Advanced audio, kind of like HTC’s partnership with Beats Audio, but from a much better company (Beats is just a name for a far inferior audio company) such as Bang & Olufsen or Bose.

    And all of this would be on top of the “innovations” it did bring to the table. I understand that the list is a lot to expect and may seem over-the-top, but it’s also what Apple would need to do to make the iPhone the top dog once again, because, right now, my favorite company, Samsung, is in the lead with its Galaxy S III. If anything, all Apple has done is made a phone to match Samsung’s flagship’s specs, but all the public will see is the branding. And it’s not right. I understand people upgrading from much older phones (like the 3G S) won’t complain as much since it is a big upgrade, but it could be so much more. I am looking for a new phone right now, and while I think the iPhone 5 is pretty awesome, I don’t want to support Apple’s decision to make it less of a cutting-edge marvel than it could’ve been. That being said, I do approve of the “jewelry-like” fit and finish, Apple has always paid attention to build quality. So, I will be waiting for another year, and hopefully by that time we will have some great contenders. I’m really looking forward to Samsung’s inevitable Galaxy S IV, that should be truly mouth watering. As for Apple, they’re slacking off: coasting on their previous success and relying heavily on their pitiful incremental innovation (adding small tweaks to products and calling them revolutionary, because we all know the uninformed public will fall ignorantly to the lies and façades).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

