YouTube.edu?

October 3, 2013 at 12:22 am 1 comment

We all know what YouTube is right, just a website with a bunch of videos.  Definitely not a school, or is it?  I’ve always considered “school” as a place where knowledge is at our fingertips and it comes in different forms: middle school, high school and even a school of fish.  In the end, it boils down to being a place where you can learn new things.

I’ve been watching YouTube videos since it hit the internet, so I’ve been to every corner that YouTube has to offer and more.  I’ve come to realize that YouTube is a great resource when it comes to looking things up; especially when you need more than just step-by-step instructions.  Even now, when you search tutorials, many have embedded videos with visual examples.

YouTube has so much more to offer than just people getting off anesthesia, random fox sounds and music videos.  It’s a great place to pick up new tips and tricks, while falling victim to a few tangents.  I actually learned how to build my computer from watching YouTube videos.  There are so many tutorials and videos that you can find from multiple people.  If you ever dislike a video, there is a high chance that you can find another video on the same topic but by a different person.

Image

This past summer, I visited my relatives and my uncle built a patio….from watching YouTube videos.  This guy is a 40 year old man.  He was around when floppy disks were a thing, but that’s a story for another time.  My point is, is that YouTube is just as easy as using Google.

I’ve also started using YouTube to help me with my school problems.  I was in a Java Programming class and it was pretty confusing.  From my perspective, the instructor didn’t explain the material well enough, so I went to YouTube.  I found video explanations of the items we went over in class (NO READING!!)  The video was literally five minutes.  From then on, I would use YouTube whenever I got stuck.

Here is a sample of a video that I use.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The Most Dangerous Wargame On the path to Artificial Intelligence

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2013
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

