Embrace the Matrix

November 6, 2013 at 11:59 pm 1 comment

Hello MAT 120 students! I am Chris Higgins, application developer and server administrator at Illinois State University, masters student, former blogger for this site, and now I am back doing a guest posting! Many thanks to Dr. Machina for reaching out and asking if I would be willing to come back and do a guest posting. I was in this same class four long years ago as a freshman, struggling to get every answer right and pass the class with the best grade I can get. Now I’m sitting in my office writing this blog post while I have various programs end editors open, spending most of my working day coding and coding away.

Programming and coding is taking the world by storm. Everywhere you go, there are hundreds of devices around you being run by some program that a developer wrote. You cannot go anywhere without computers being around you. So, why not embrace what is happening around you? Why not become part of the change? The world of information technology is rapidly growing, creating both new jobs and new technologies. There will always be jobs in IT out there, and jumping into IT just helps to lead you to success.

One of the best things you can do for yourself is learn how to code. It is like learning a new language, the sooner you learn and more you use it, the better you will be at programming. Gabe Newell quotes “the programmers of tomorrow are the wizards of the future”, and he is exactly right! I remember being young and working on my own Windows 95 computer thinking how cool it was, not even imagining the amount of progress that would be made in the coming years to where we are today. Now it is not even the nerds that say coding is in the future, famous celebrities such as singer/rapper Will.I.Am and basketball player for the Miami Heat Chris Bosh are joining the party and learning how to code. They are taking the initiative to basically enter the matrix.

I hope that I have convinced some of you to become interested in coding and working in IT, if you were not already thinking that could be your future! Always keep an eye for student IT job posts on the ISU jobs website, and don’t forget to take this weeks quiz now available on ReggieNet! Thanks for having me everyone, I hope you enjoyed the read!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Deep Learning Neural Networks Fun With Virtual Labs

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. hormone therapy miami  |  November 21, 2014 at 11:55 am

    Great information. Lucky me I came across your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have book marked it for later!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2013
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

